SparkNYC Member Profile: Megan Lynch

Megan Lynch is a program coordinator at the Council on Foreign Relations (CFR)— an independent, nonpartisan membership organization, think tank, and publisher—where she manages corporate relationships for the Council’s Corporate Program. Megan graduated from New York University in 2010 with a Masters degree in Politics and a concentration in International Relations. She M Lynch Photoserves on the Membership Committee for Women in Development and the Investment Committee for SparkNYC. She talks to us about how she got involved with Spark, penguins, and a wrong turn in Europe.

Megan’s Spark Story:

A friend invited me to attend a SparkNYC membership mixer, and I immediately felt like I connected with the organization’s mission and community. I’ve long had an interest in women’s empowerment, international development, and effective philanthropy, and SparkNYC allows me to invest in all these areas alongside an incredible group of young professionals. Spark has provided me with a unique opportunity to learn about the grant-making process and to think about philanthropy from a funder’s perspective. I’m continually inspired by the innovative grassroots organizations that we support and by Spark’s energetic and committed members.

Who is your favorite grantee?

The Komera Project, a leadership incubator in rural Rwanda that facilitates educational opportunities for young women.

What is your idea of perfect happiness?

A good book, cinnamon scone, coffee, and an unscheduled afternoon.

What talent (or superpower!) would you like to have?

Flying would be fun, but I think the power to teleport might be even better. It would definitely cut down on my commute.

What is your most marked characteristic?

Curiosity. I grew up pestering my parents with questions, and I still have that eagerness to learn and understand.

If you were to die and come back as a person or thing, what do you think it would be?

A penguin?

What is the quality you most like in a fellow human being?

Compassion.

What is your favorite journey?

Last summer, I traveled through Europe for two weeks with my three sisters. One of my favorite unplanned moments of the trip was when we took a wrong turn on the highway from Basel to Munich and ended up in Liechtenstein. Despite being lost, it made for great sister bonding. Plus, we got to see a tiny yet stunningly beautiful alpine country.

Who are your heroes in real life?

I have a long list of heroes, but some that come to mind include my mom, Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Madeleine Albright, Aung San Suu Kyi, and Fyodor Dostoevsky.

Leave a Reply

